“The Little Mermaid” makes a splash on Broadway

By Amanda Lavergne

Only $25 for a Broadway show and transportation to and from New York City? Through Marist this is a very real option for students to take advantage of.

The College Activities Office gives Marist students the opportunity to see selected Broadway shows for a discounted price.

“I’m mad at myself that I never took advantage of this before,” said sophomore Gabrielle Conte. “When I received my Shrek ticket and saw that the normal price was $109.50, I was really amazed at how great this deal is.”

The most recent showing was “The Little Mermaid” which students attended on Sunday March 29.

Being showed at the Lunt-Fontanne Theater, “The Little Mermaid” from beginning to end was  a spectacular display of underwater sets, dazzling costumes, and great actors.

“I was amazed at how well the props for the show were done, it made you feel that you were really under the sea,” said sophomore Cassandra Palummo.

Sierra Boggess who played Ariel, did a wonderful job as the sea princess with her light, clear voice, and her ability to portray the naive girl to a T.

Sierra Boggess as Ariel. Image courtesy of http://nymag.com/images

Sierra Boggess as Ariel. Image courtesy of http://nymag.com/images

Prince Eric, portrayed by Sean Palmer, simply seem to do his job as your traditional Disney prince, just being handsome and well-sung.

Heidi Blickenstaff nailed down Ursula with her cackling laughter and ability to go from sweet to evil within a nanosecond.

“I was truly impressed with the way Ursula was done,” said sophomore Alexandra Lomolino. “I felt like if I had closed my eyes I was hearing the Ursula from the animated movie.”

However, the one who truly stole the show was Trevor Braun who played Flounder. Braun, who looked to be about 8 years old was a comic relief and had a surprisingly strong voice.

“I think my favorite character was Sebastian,” said Conte. “I loved how the actor who portrayed him was able to get his Jamiacan accent down perfect.”

With new song numbers added in, the show ran for two and half hours and only had a few dull moments. When just Prince Eric (Palmer)  held the stage, such as for the song “Her Voice,” he seemed to be a bit awkward and came across that he didn’t quite know what to do with the whole stage to himself.

“Overall I think that it was very well done and I would tell anyone to go see it,” said Palummo, “especially if you have young kids.”

Leave a Reply

