Online news

In my dining room, on the chair to the far right, sits the Sunday newspaper. Countless issues have been placed and replaced on that same chair since the beginnings of my childhood. It seems the only time the newspaper was permitted access to the tables surface was upon its entrance on Sunday morning. I would come downstairs only to be greeted by a curtain of paper that surrounded my father. Next to the untouched mountain of paper set aside for pre-nap couch reading would be my section, the comics.

Thankfully by the age of seven I had successfully perfected the art of folding newspapers, which subsequently decreased the humor content for my parents. As I grew older my father would cleverly leave me articles that coincidently coincided with both his and my mother’s nagging. Unable to dispute psychologists and evidence provided by the Boston Globe, I was often left with no reasonable argument against chores, getting a job, studying for the SATs, or going to college.

Now, about once a week, I will receive an email from my father with a link to an article in the New York Times pertaining to the job market for students after college. This minor development is reflective of my generations relationship with print journalism. Newspapers are a nostalgic reminder of childhood, but the news has quickly evolved into a continuously updated entity that is easily accessible through an intangible vehicle, the World Wide Web.

This rising popularity in online journalism has resulted in a decrease of newspaper circulation. The New York Times reported that last year circulation fell 3 percent in the U.S and 1.9 percent in Europe. The report also showed that circulation has been down 8 percent in the past five years. Advertising has followed suit, with a fall of 3 percent.

Numerous reasons have caused 37 percent of Americans to regularly turn to the internet as their main news source. Internet news is breaking news. Websites are updated every second making the most recent stories readily available to the reader. The accessibility of the internet from PDA’s and cell phones allows people to always feel as if they are in the know. The internet also lets readers search for preferred articles with the click of a mouse.

According to E-School news, the nation’s schools improved their students’ access to internet-connected computers by more than 40 percent during the past year alone.

More students than ever turn to the internet to receive their daily ration of news. Senior, Jessye Siciak says that accessing the news online is more convenient and economical.

“Why go buy a paper for 25 cents when I could just log online and read whatever articles I want,” Siciak said.

Freshman Stephanie Rosen feels similarly, “It is much easier to access specific stories on the internet than the paper. You don’t have to fold and re-fold pages to get to the story you want.”

Leave a Reply

